Author Topic: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency  (Read 28864 times)

Offline I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
I'm too lazy to switch my windows language for you, bums.

Alright, so you have 2 PC's and you need to configure the port forwarding on both of them.
Let's say you have computer A and computer B.

for computer A:
follow steps included in this instruction
http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/

for computer B:
you need to change game data port first. Computer A is using 6112, you gotta set computer B port to 6113.













then follow steps included in the very same instruction as the previous one
http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/

Offline iL

  • Administrator
  • Ogre Mage
  • *****
  • Posts: 1649
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 09:11:18 AM »
Thanks for detailed instruction, got from this topic: http://forum.war2.ru/index.php/topic,129.0.html
Need help to translate War2Combat to German, French, Italian, Polish or another language: http://forum.war2.ru/index.php/topic,4728.0.html
Please, contact me if you are interested in that.

Offline tk[as]

  • Server Admin
  • Death Knight
  • *****
  • Posts: 4995
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 01:36:26 PM »
so far this hasnt worked for the 2 different people i know who have tried it.

Offline GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 01:42:02 PM »
It works, I used this method a while back on bnet.
Kali IGL Stats

Offline EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2015, 01:52:52 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


-Administrator of Clan EviL
-Developer (Trivia Development and Analytics)

Offline GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2015, 01:57:35 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


you can use any port.
Kali IGL Stats

Offline EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2015, 02:02:00 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


you can use any port.
Not for all users.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

-Administrator of Clan EviL
-Developer (Trivia Development and Analytics)

Offline GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2015, 02:18:49 PM »
yep you can
Kali IGL Stats

Offline EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2015, 03:06:54 PM »
Shh handpuppet.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


-Administrator of Clan EviL
-Developer (Trivia Development and Analytics)

Offline GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2015, 03:59:23 PM »
2-0
Kali IGL Stats

Offline USA~Archer

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Don't shoot the sheep!
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2015, 04:15:12 PM »
Super useful post, thanks claw

Offline Illium

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2015, 01:28:29 AM »
I can get three computers to work but never four.  Frustrating.  I have assigned static IPs to all four computers. The computer that I have set aside for hosting games (#1) has ports 6112-6116 (TCP and UDP) forwarded on my Actiontec (FIOS) router.  Computer #2 has port 6117 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6117 using regedit.  Computer #3 has port 6118 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6118. Computer #4 has port 6119 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6119.

Again only three computers can play, the addition of the fourth always boots the other two.

I previously assigned ports 6112-6119 to computer #1 and random ports (with matching game data port entries) to computers 2-4 and same issue, three computers fine, never four.  Any ideas?

Offline Illium

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2015, 02:25:56 AM »
 I got it to work with four computers! 
I went back and assigned ports 6112-6119 and no Game Data Port Entry to computer #1 and random ports, with matching game data port entries, to computers 2-4.  I then REBOOTED all the computers and that did the trick.  Rebooting of all things, made it "take" and now it works, woohoo!

Offline USA~Archer

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 158
  • Don't shoot the sheep!
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2015, 11:06:41 AM »
Nice. Also i noticed that if you modify the reg while war2 is running, you can save your changes but it wont "take" also. You have to not be running war2 when modifying reg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2015, 11:15:27 AM »
Glad it helped someone!  :3