War2.ru Slogan
News: If your graphics are broken you can fix with the new ddraw version.
** Read how to install it here **


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency 11262  33

Ogre Mage Posts: 2161 Karma: +119/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2161
    • View Profile
How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« on: December 09, 2014, 03:08:42 PM »
I'm too lazy to switch my windows language for you, bums.

Alright, so you have 2 PC's and you need to configure the port forwarding on both of them.
Let's say you have computer A and computer B.

for computer A:
follow steps included in this instruction
http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/

for computer B:
you need to change game data port first. Computer A is using 6112, you gotta set computer B port to 6113.













then follow steps included in the very same instruction as the previous one
http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/
Administrator Ogre Posts: 1045 Karma: +102/-9 *****

iL

  • Administrator
  • Ogre
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 1045
    • View Profile
*

iL

Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2014, 09:11:18 AM »
Thanks for detailed instruction, got from this topic: http://forum.war2.ru/index.php/topic,129.0.html
Ogre Mage Posts: 2337 Karma: +42/-7 ********

tk[as]

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2337
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 01:36:26 PM »
so far this hasnt worked for the 2 different people i know who have tried it.
Best War2 Player Ever Ogre Mage Posts: 1745 Karma: +55/-58 #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU ********

GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #3 on: January 05, 2015, 01:42:02 PM »
It works, I used this method a while back on bnet.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #4 on: January 05, 2015, 01:52:52 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Best War2 Player Ever Ogre Mage Posts: 1745 Karma: +55/-58 #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU ********

GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #5 on: January 05, 2015, 01:57:35 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


you can use any port.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #6 on: January 05, 2015, 02:02:00 PM »
I'd use 6111 instead of 6113 for computer B

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X


you can use any port.
Not for all users.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X
Best War2 Player Ever Ogre Mage Posts: 1745 Karma: +55/-58 #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU ********

GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #7 on: January 05, 2015, 02:18:49 PM »
yep you can
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #8 on: January 05, 2015, 03:06:54 PM »
Shh handpuppet.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Best War2 Player Ever Ogre Mage Posts: 1745 Karma: +55/-58 #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU ********

GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #9 on: January 05, 2015, 03:59:23 PM »
2-0
Grunt Posts: 158 Karma: +18/-16 Don't shoot the sheep! ***

USA~Archer

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Don't shoot the sheep!
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #10 on: April 07, 2015, 04:15:12 PM »
Super useful post, thanks claw
Critter Posts: 3 Karma: +1/-0 *

Illium

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #11 on: April 12, 2015, 01:28:29 AM »
I can get three computers to work but never four.  Frustrating.  I have assigned static IPs to all four computers. The computer that I have set aside for hosting games (#1) has ports 6112-6116 (TCP and UDP) forwarded on my Actiontec (FIOS) router.  Computer #2 has port 6117 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6117 using regedit.  Computer #3 has port 6118 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6118. Computer #4 has port 6119 forwarded and I added a Game Data Port entry of 6119.

Again only three computers can play, the addition of the fourth always boots the other two.

I previously assigned ports 6112-6119 to computer #1 and random ports (with matching game data port entries) to computers 2-4 and same issue, three computers fine, never four.  Any ideas?
Critter Posts: 3 Karma: +1/-0 *

Illium

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #12 on: April 12, 2015, 02:25:56 AM »
 I got it to work with four computers! 
I went back and assigned ports 6112-6119 and no Game Data Port Entry to computer #1 and random ports, with matching game data port entries, to computers 2-4.  I then REBOOTED all the computers and that did the trick.  Rebooting of all things, made it "take" and now it works, woohoo!
Grunt Posts: 158 Karma: +18/-16 Don't shoot the sheep! ***

USA~Archer

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Don't shoot the sheep!
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #13 on: April 12, 2015, 11:06:41 AM »
Nice. Also i noticed that if you modify the reg while war2 is running, you can save your changes but it wont "take" also. You have to not be running war2 when modifying reg


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Ogre Mage Posts: 2161 Karma: +119/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2161
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #14 on: April 12, 2015, 11:15:27 AM »
Glad it helped someone!  :3