War2.ru Slogan
News: All hail our wise & benevolent admins!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency 12224  37

(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #30 on: June 29, 2016, 12:33:19 AM »
i try to set 2 computers on the same network for playing with a friend and it dont work pls help me!

Well eq did you change ports on both computers then port forwarding the ports?

I create 2 new rules on my router...

Rule 1: Warcraft II

Port 6112 - 6119, BOTH protocol,  Computer A ( main computer )

Rule 2: Warcraft II 2

Port 6113 - 6119, BOTH protocol, Computer B ( Second computer )

I also change my regedit Game data port on computer B for 6113 decimal.


PS: we both can join other people games, both we cant join each other from our own created game..

Also, if we join other peoples games, we will have conflict lag and we cant see what we write on game...

Similar thing happened to me, was resolved after using 6111-6120 for the second computer.


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Ogre Mage Posts: 2333 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #31 on: November 03, 2016, 05:13:09 PM »
unsticky, its worthless when we has random port feature during installation
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #32 on: November 03, 2016, 06:01:58 PM »
unsticky, its worthless when we has random port feature during installation

You ever shut up?


Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk
Ogre Mage Posts: 2333 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2333
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #33 on: November 04, 2016, 01:18:42 AM »
unsticky, its worthless when we has random port feature during installation

You ever shut up?


Sent from my Nokia 3310 using Tapatalk
suck it mmm
Critter Posts: 1 Karma: +0/-0 *

chaddy

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #34 on: April 22, 2018, 05:39:21 PM »
Hello, I'm experiencing the same issue and I've been trying to fix this for the whole day now. I must say im about to give up.

I'm trying to join a game hosted by a cpu in same local network. I've made 2 rules for ports 6113 and 6112 forwarding on my router and add them to each computer regedit "Game Data Port" as the tutorial shows. I don't receive the "Port is close" error message in the game hub which is a good sign.
However, still latency issue when trying to join in.

I made sure my Firewall was not blocking, I even made a rule to force activation from ports 6111-6119 UDP and TCP.

After this, I tried with VPN TunnelBear and same config.
Same thing, can't join.

I can join others game and others can join mine as mention before in this post. Just can't if hosts are the same lcoal network.

Anyone found a fix to this since this post was written ?

Thank you
Administrator Ogre Mage Posts: 1778 Karma: +96/-109 *****

mousEtopher

  • Administrator
  • Ogre Mage
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 1778
    • View Profile
    • War2.me
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #35 on: April 24, 2018, 02:20:21 PM »
hiya -- the first thing to do is confirm that port forwarding is working correctly on at least 1 pc. once 1 is able to host (no closed port message + other players on server can join normally) then i see no reason why the 2nd local pc wouldn't be able to join through a vpn -- using a vpn both players will have different IPs and the server should have no way of knowing the two connections are related afaik.

so to clarify, at least one of you can host games successfully on your pc & other people can join? and the vpn is being used on the non-hosting pc? but 2nd player from same network gets lat when joining your games, with or without vpn? i think that's what you're saying but just making sure
Axe Thrower Posts: 344 Karma: +21/-1 ****

Igognito

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 344
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #36 on: Today at 07:07:05 AM »
You need to choose the random port when you are installing the game.

Try reinstalling the game and change that option.

Cheers
Berserker Posts: 748 Karma: +54/-0 *****

Lambchops

  • Berserker
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 748
    • View Profile
Re: How to battle from several computers on the same network, latency
« Reply #37 on: Today at 08:18:41 AM »
Few notes.

Computers must use different game ports (obviously), change with the random port thing on the installer, or by editing the "Game Data Port" key in the registry.

Routing must be set up to forward UDP traffic on each port to the appropriate computer. If your game port is 6112 then forward UDP/6112 to your LAN ip address. If your game port is 7777 then forward UDP/7777.

Do not forward any other ports or protocols.

The plethora of sources that suggest forwarding 6112 -> 6119 are all wrong. If your game port is 6112 then ok but you don't need to do anything with 6113-> 6119. This is not needed and can only confuse the issue, not help.

NOTE: I have encountered some modern telco-supplied routers that have a "firewall" setting that is very simple - like Low/Medium/High. Even on the "Low" setting they still block unsolicited input from unknown ports regardless of port forwarding settings. This is just total garbage firmware programming. If you have one of these routers, then unless you can find some decent firmware to flash into it I suggest throwing it in the trash and getting a decent one.