War2.ru Slogan
News: There's a new version of War2Observe that fixes the crash issue,
download from the downloads page today!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed 67714  252

Critter Posts: 1 Karma: +0/-0 *

sascha

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #180 on: May 24, 2016, 12:32:45 PM »
Is there any chance you include the possibility to launch WC2 in windowed mode officially? Found a ddraw.dll that has windowed mode by configuring it via ddraw.ini but includes all the glitches that have been fixed by the ddraw.dll in this thread.
Death Knight Posts: 2569 Karma: +82/-4 *********

tupac

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • *
  • Posts: 2569
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #181 on: May 24, 2016, 12:47:14 PM »
Is there any chance you include the possibility to launch WC2 in windowed mode officially? Found a ddraw.dll that has windowed mode by configuring it via ddraw.ini but includes all the glitches that have been fixed by the ddraw.dll in this thread.
In the color fix for win 8 and 10 minimal just hit alt + enter.
Administrator Ogre Mage Posts: 2066 Karma: +110/-110 *****

mousEtopher

  • Administrator
  • Ogre Mage
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 2066
    • View Profile
    • War2.me
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #182 on: June 02, 2016, 06:40:57 PM »
Several people have asked about this fix recently. I have this page http://en.war2.ru/ddraw that explains how to use it, right now the only version it links to is the second one that fixes the blurry text (war2_ddraw_test2.zip). So questions:

- Is that the best version to be distributing as of right now?
- Is that version okay for Win8/10? Or is it better for them to use the pass-thru version? (war2_ddraw_minimal.zip, http://forum.war2.ru/index.php/topic,1790.msg32593.html#msg32593)
- Does that pass-thru version also include the alt+enter shortcut? Sounds like yes based on tupac's previous posts?
Grunt Posts: 80 Karma: +7/-0 ***

xboi209

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #183 on: August 10, 2016, 07:02:59 PM »
I cleaned up some of the code, updated project files for Visual Studio 2015, enabled optimizations, added better error messages, and created a fallback CreateDevice() call so that the DLL could work on a wider variety of systems. Windows XP not supported (could easily be supported if you change a compiler option).
Source code included.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #184 on: August 10, 2016, 08:41:13 PM »
I cleaned up some of the code, updated project files for Visual Studio 2015, enabled optimizations, added better error messages, and created a fallback CreateDevice() call so that the DLL could work on a wider variety of systems. Windows XP not supported (could easily be supported if you change a compiler option).
Source code included.

dam that just gave me a boner.


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Death Knight Posts: 3468 Karma: +89/-2 retired, be in music section *********

easycompany

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • Posts: 3468
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #185 on: August 10, 2016, 08:43:37 PM »
not me...:( gonna miss alt+ enter back xp single core amd :(  ;D and im poking shit fuck vista and above lol  ;D but gj man!
Grunt Posts: 80 Karma: +7/-0 ***

xboi209

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #186 on: August 10, 2016, 09:55:10 PM »
And SOS Aqrit, I don't know why but Korean text is broken in StarCraft.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #187 on: August 11, 2016, 03:11:54 PM »
And SOS Aqrit, I don't know why but Korean text is broken in StarCraft.

Uh?


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Death Knight Posts: 2569 Karma: +82/-4 *********

tupac

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • *
  • Posts: 2569
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #188 on: August 11, 2016, 06:18:29 PM »
And SOS Aqrit, I don't know why but Korean text is broken in StarCraft.

Uh?


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Yeah I saw that mentioned on teamliquid or whatever it's called. Those people should be able to make their own color fix idk though.
Death Knight Posts: 3468 Karma: +89/-2 retired, be in music section *********

easycompany

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • Posts: 3468
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #189 on: August 12, 2016, 11:16:44 PM »
thx again man back on 7...thought i could live without the window mode but i cant :P works great!
Death Knight Posts: 2569 Karma: +82/-4 *********

tupac

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • *
  • Posts: 2569
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #190 on: August 13, 2016, 03:50:28 PM »
thx again man back on 7...thought i could live without the window mode but i cant :P works great!
Yeah I totally agree with you there. Very hand for development, etc.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #191 on: August 13, 2016, 05:50:16 PM »
thx again man back on 7...thought i could live without the window mode but i cant :P works great!
Yeah I totally agree with you there. Very hand for development, etc.

Or just get two monitors


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Death Knight Posts: 2569 Karma: +82/-4 *********

tupac

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • *
  • Posts: 2569
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #192 on: August 13, 2016, 07:19:25 PM »
It also causes my 2nd monitor to go black when I alt tab for a few seconds in and out. Had my laptop running to my 55in NEC monitor. Another reason I use window mode ;)
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #193 on: August 13, 2016, 07:20:33 PM »
It also causes my 2nd monitor to go black when I alt tab for a few seconds in and out. Had my laptop running to my 55in NEC monitor. Another reason I use window mode ;)

You need to fix that in your graphics card control panel.


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Peon Posts: 41 Karma: +5/-0 **

aqrit

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: War2 graphics for Win Vista/7/8/8.1/10/2012 fixed
« Reply #194 on: August 14, 2016, 12:10:23 AM »
@xboi

I keep trying to improve this project by hooking WM_DRAWITEM and WM_PAINT messages...
which eventually causes me to rage quit.  >:(

fixing the Korean text is trivial, if using invasive hooking...
if you're going to build a launcher then this would be good practice for you :p

The only non-invasive way to fix the KR font, that I can think of, would be to override the Ariel font with a custom one. However, I've never tried that out.

other known issues:
1. D3DCREATE_FPUPRESERVE flag is missing
2. In 0.4 the 32bpp surface is not locked, only the 8bpp texture is locked...
so color converting anything by hand is a giant WTF!
How it doesn't crash is currently a mystery...

Do you think the new official 1.1.17 Starcraft patch is waiting on the HD upgrade?