War2.ru Slogan
News: If your graphics are broken you can fix with the new ddraw version.
** Read how to install it here **


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Remove unit limit map editor 2091  40

Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Remove unit limit map editor
« on: June 24, 2016, 02:28:18 AM »
From dijhkahn @ occult forums

   Fix for War2 Map Editor 'Player X has too many units.'
I'm guessing no one cares, but here it goes...

The Map Editor only lets you save maps with a certain amount of units per color. The limit seems to be 600/#colors. So for an 8-player map the limit is 600/8 = 75 units per color.

But, there is a way to get rid of this limit:

- Make a backup copy of "Warcraft II Map Editor.exe", in case something goes wrong
- open "Warcraft II Map Editor.exe" in a hex editor
- look at byte location B9E5, and verify that the value is 02
- change the 02 to a 40
- save the file

Or, I'll upload the modified EXE sometime, if people actually want it : )


for non-English languages, search for the byte sequence b8 58 02 00 00 99 f7 ff and change the 02 to 40
Grunt Posts: 120 Karma: +2/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #1 on: June 24, 2016, 08:31:06 PM »
Good finding, still the problem should exist in the game, so better will be to find how to remove pop cap in game..
Critter Posts: 2 Karma: +0/-0 *

Tilogour

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #2 on: July 03, 2016, 08:29:50 AM »
It will be helpful if you upload exe
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #3 on: July 05, 2016, 01:28:09 AM »
It will be helpful if you upload exe
It's very simple.
Get warcraft 2 map editor .exe
Download Hxd editor
Open the map editor exe with Hxd
Search for these bytes

 b8 58 02 00 00 99 f7 ff

Should take a second

Replace 02 with 04

Then click save.

You just patched your war2 editor to not have a limit on units. But war2xed editor already capable of this. Over a certain amount they won't appear when you play the map.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2295 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2295
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #4 on: July 05, 2016, 01:33:57 AM »
yeah i tested it with minions thought i could bypass...800 or so it stops.

there is maybe another way but would be alot of work.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #5 on: July 05, 2016, 02:10:09 AM »
yeah i tested it with minions thought i could bypass...800 or so it stops.

there is maybe another way but would be alot of work.
We could try to locate the one on the exe side. Been so lazy never even looked. Been reading about our map editor.
Axe Thrower Posts: 413 Karma: +27/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2017, 06:37:21 AM »
okey i try to change 02 -> 04 but if i change and click save then reload its still 02
Ogre Mage Posts: 2295 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2295
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #7 on: January 11, 2017, 02:30:45 PM »
unit cap can exceed 200 units, with the -1 value set on farms ...but havent looked at it in awhile or is it even needed.

but this is in exe not the map editor.

it should set swaz. u using hxd?
Ogre Mage Posts: 2295 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2295
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #8 on: January 16, 2017, 03:46:09 PM »
ahh i see what he is saying! program files likes to make sure people dont mess with them..take the file out and doit in c:\new folder etc..
and take off read only on the folder...dam these newer windows is nothing like win98 days  >:(
there it is if u wanna try it.i havent.

Axe Thrower Posts: 413 Karma: +27/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #9 on: January 16, 2017, 05:16:18 PM »
thank you  :D
yes my main w2bne is in program files
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #10 on: January 16, 2017, 07:49:27 PM »
The other war2 editors don't have a unit cap. I was bored one day and filled every spot with a cpu unit. When I load the map most units are gone. But open editor and they are in the map. I think we would have to hex war2 unit limit also for this to fully work.
Axe Thrower Posts: 413 Karma: +27/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #11 on: January 16, 2017, 08:45:17 PM »
would be nice if u try add ai in ai.bin i tried but failed many times ^^
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #12 on: January 16, 2017, 09:02:22 PM »
would be nice if u try add ai in ai.bin i tried but failed many times ^^
That's easy! Use wardraft 2 export the AI and create it. Then get a MPQ editor rename the file to ai.bin and place where the old one I'd in mpq then load ur map it plays your custom AI.
Axe Thrower Posts: 413 Karma: +27/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #13 on: January 17, 2017, 05:50:36 AM »
Ok i will try it, i was copying in hex one ai i thought it will double it and icould change it

ok it isnt work. how u are doing it? i can save files as "aaa" but i still cant add(for example last ai is orc 3 how to add orc 3d?



This is last ai in file human 9d(white) how to make 2 ai ?for example human 9d(white) human 9E(white)?
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Remove unit limit map editor
« Reply #14 on: January 17, 2017, 11:49:00 AM »