War2.ru Slogan
News: If your graphics are broken you can fix with the new ddraw version.
** Read how to install it here **


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing) 688  4

Critter Posts: 2 Karma: +0/-0 *

Vytau

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing)
« on: July 14, 2016, 05:30:42 AM »
Hi there sirs!

I tried playing around with the whole warcraft2 thing and got interested in possibility to mod there something - like in old times. I've tried to edit the campaign pud file, as your main guy TUPAC writes in his introduction to modding.

I extracted the .pud file, added one unit then saved it and added to the .mpq archive (overwrote the existing pud file). Started the game and BAAM - got the crash message - critical error Human01.pud is corrupt.
I thought - maybe the check sum of the file is different or whatever, so I tried to extract the pud file and WITHOUT changing anything - put it back. I am getting the same error message.

Any help in this case?

PS: I am attaching the screenshots, I don't know how they are going to look in the post.

Thanks in advance. I hope you won't kill my enthusiasm in building something into the old good game, I remember from being 10 or 12...


Death Knight Posts: 3244 Karma: +78/-2 retired, be in music section *********

easycompany

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • Posts: 3244
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing)
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2016, 05:54:26 AM »
i use winmpq ...i just remember not liking ladiks for some reason.

u got to close it before running war2?? i cant remember.

well your problem is a bad .pud file it seems or is missing.



also war2 first couple of missions has the farm rule and etc stuff maybe why its crashing.
Critter Posts: 2 Karma: +0/-0 *

Vytau

  • Critter
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing)
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2016, 06:49:29 AM »
OK. I am taking my post back. The WINMPQ works and the stupid LADIKS editor was the problem.

Thanks easycompany!
Death Knight Posts: 2552 Karma: +82/-4 *********

tupac

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • *
  • Posts: 2552
    • View Profile
Re: Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing)
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2016, 06:58:28 AM »
OK. I am taking my post back. The WINMPQ works and the stupid LADIKS editor was the problem.

Thanks easycompany!
Very good never even tried different mpq editors. If you just found it good job!
Death Knight Posts: 3244 Karma: +78/-2 retired, be in music section *********

easycompany

  • Death Knight
  • *********
  • Posts: 3244
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Please some help to a new guy! (MPQ editing)
« Reply #4 on: July 14, 2016, 12:19:18 PM »
im sure ladiks will work but yeah im used to winmpq and faster when  i was setting grps as i just put in the location +name.

great you got it working!