War2.ru Slogan
News: All hail our wise & benevolent admins!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Convert wargus stuff to Warcraft 2? 3222  55

Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #15 on: September 04, 2016, 04:04:52 PM »
daniel lemburg or whatever said he did have them build stuff in dos,i have not.so i cant say its impossible.

if u try stay with 9, as the others dont even have a mini map.

another thing with 72 the extra peon will chop but he will get done and build a townhall ;D so the cpu will dual. i placed more down but only one will doit for each team.
Global Moderator Axe Thrower Posts: 410 Karma: +28/-2 *****

Warchief Lightbringer-

  • Global Moderator
  • Axe Thrower
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 410
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #16 on: September 05, 2016, 05:32:53 AM »
Is it possible to give a starting player 2 peons? One orc and one human? Would be badass in multiplayer games :D
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #17 on: September 05, 2016, 12:01:14 PM »
Is it possible to give a starting player 2 peons? One orc and one human? Would be badass in multiplayer games :D
Yes
Grunt Posts: 120 Karma: +3/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #18 on: September 07, 2016, 09:36:09 PM »
Just to be sure do you know how to handle custom units, change their sprite or icons??
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #19 on: September 08, 2016, 12:06:37 PM »
Just to be sure do you know how to handle custom units, change their sprite or icons??
Yes
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #20 on: September 08, 2016, 12:16:56 PM »
they are some wierd ones lol,u got to check both races to see what you got.possible a build peon :o so maybe a cpu will tripple hall lol.
Grunt Posts: 120 Karma: +3/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #21 on: September 08, 2016, 12:27:49 PM »
Ok, can you please do a post about how to handle/use this custom units, change their properties and other..
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #22 on: September 08, 2016, 01:10:21 PM »
like the custom unit has a peon icon?that is in the pud..here before long (hopefully) we will have real custom units...like a building that makes alleria etc.

better yet a shipyard that does...then i can have my mini ships >.<

wait a little longer sav :P as of now i can make just buildings build nothing  ;D

also there is resources..theres a value somewhere, where the gold mine does lumber etc and how much  :P new trees at our disposal
Grunt Posts: 120 Karma: +3/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #23 on: September 10, 2016, 05:44:17 PM »
I was asking tupac, becuase he seems to know how to do it.. i have some wargus unit ready to be converted, if there is a chance to use those..
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #24 on: September 10, 2016, 07:10:31 PM »
your wanting to take a wargus unit and put it in war2?

it is possible. but speed and attack rate,and who and how spells work isnt ready yet.

like i cant do 2 seperate mages each with half of the spells etc.probably cannot be changed but its not a big deal.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #25 on: September 10, 2016, 08:13:14 PM »
I was asking tupac, becuase he seems to know how to do it.. i have some wargus unit ready to be converted, if there is a chance to use those..
Yes you would need to get the .grp format graphics put them inside the mpq same with sounds, etc. For spells, speed, easycompany has made a way for battle.net and soon should be able to change those units properties with a modified exe.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus maps to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #26 on: September 11, 2016, 09:36:50 AM »
i can show you how to make grps.

http://www.alferdspritesheetunpacker.forkandbeard.co.uk/forkandBeard/apps/AlferdSpritesheetUnpacker/Download.aspx

u want that to get them from your sheet.
but before you do that,u want to apply a war2.pal to it...and add team colors to a part of the unit.

old paintshop pro 4 u can doit all in it.(any paint program that can apply .pals will work,psp still has funky .bmp saves currently looking into the problem)

then use retro grp to make your grp walla....but they are like 60 sprites i suggest taking a macro and helping automate repetitive stuff.

72x72 centered on your units, that you rip.
Grunt Posts: 120 Karma: +3/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 120
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus stuff to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #27 on: September 11, 2016, 08:38:01 PM »
You can help me doing the process??  i can share you the units sprites.

Ogre troll
http://i65.tinypic.com/2rr0yv4.png

Horse Archer
http://i66.tinypic.com/16m4nz5.png
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus stuff to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #28 on: September 11, 2016, 11:49:11 PM »
ok,we ll see how they work out.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2357 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2357
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Convert wargus stuff to Warcraft 2?
« Reply #29 on: September 12, 2016, 09:18:45 PM »
dude im having a dam problem with retro...it wont let me put in a pal in it ....so regardless of my paint stuff they will be distorted :( ill have to see what the problem is .."a unamed file isnt found" and i cant put in a pal.

fixed it!!!!!!!!!!! u gotta reset locations!completely mangled my old war1 necro :P

now let me load your units :PPPPP



gotta rebuild my macro..to better than it was before...so be a little bit.
also somehow the shadow got disappeared in your png or they may not hve one at all.

also when you start using custom stuff,youll have to edit the .pal manualy to get all the crappy glow sprites out.(hopefully this wont happen! i just had a bad time when starting out :P )

these dudes are fine in stock except the back pack hole is green.

horse archer is giving me some errors, lacking a attack in the sprite and not enough....it can be made to fit war2 but ull have to duplicate a image.