War2.ru Slogan
News: Watch live streams at War2TV and replays of past streams at War2TV Reruns!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Easycompany 1770  79

Grunt Posts: 81 Karma: +6/-0 ***

Incos

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #30 on: May 12, 2017, 04:55:31 PM »
Game is back to crashing. Not sure I understand why, if I delete the portrait grp or have higher frames it works. When I set to 196 it doesn't. What the blow
Axe Thrower Posts: 303 Karma: +20/-0 ****

Lambchops

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #31 on: May 17, 2017, 10:20:50 AM »
Hi peeps :)

.. so in my spare time I've been doing a bit on this idea:

for custom mods .../... I can write a mod app that will impliment them.

... and I've got a lot of it done. Like a prototype mod editor, and an app that watches the WC2 process, detects the current PUD file being used then checks if is has a mod section added to it etc. I've designed it to be configurable via an .ini file so if you come up with your own mod ideas later on you can easily add them to the editor.

Anyway does anyone have any ideas for mods that I can use to test it out?
We want stuff that can't already be edited in the PUD file ( no point in that ).

There's one here already, of course - the one that started this thread:

Offset: 004A1C9E  -  BYTE  -  "Bloodlust MP Cost"

So what else would we like to mod?????

 ( Edit: BTW not asking for a wish-list here : want things that people have already worked out the addresses/values for so I can test if this thing is going to work )

Axe Thrower Posts: 303 Karma: +20/-0 ****

Lambchops

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #32 on: May 17, 2017, 10:46:14 AM »
the portrait file in war2bnet is 196 frames.

ive crashed in a game before making a to big of a unit sprite, but idk why the portrait would.

The portrait GRP contains 196 frames. They are all 46x38 pixels except for frames 171 -> 178 which are only 27x19 pixels. I suspect this is probably what is causing the issue.

I never really noticed this before either, I only checked it out after catching up with this thread. Indeed I have documented this incorrectly in my GRP format .pdf, I'll correct that when I get a free minute or two.

Heres a dump of the relevant part of the frame headers:
(the dump for the whole portrait GRP is attached - if its any use to you)

Spoiler
Code: [Select]
0546: frame 169 dx  : 0
0547: frame 169 dy  : 0
0548: frame 169 width 46
0549: frame 169 lines 38
054A: frame 169 ofs : 0x3CCFF
054E: frame 170 dx  : 0
054F: frame 170 dy  : 0
0550: frame 170 width 46
0551: frame 170 lines 38
0552: frame 170 ofs : 0x3D26B
0556: frame 171 dx  : 0
0557: frame 171 dy  : 0
0558: frame 171 width 27
0559: frame 171 lines 19
055A: frame 171 ofs : 0x3D91D
055E: frame 172 dx  : 0
055F: frame 172 dy  : 0
0560: frame 172 width 27
0561: frame 172 lines 19
0562: frame 172 ofs : 0x3DAE5
0566: frame 173 dx  : 0
0567: frame 173 dy  : 0
0568: frame 173 width 27
0569: frame 173 lines 19
056A: frame 173 ofs : 0x3DCE4
056E: frame 174 dx  : 0
056F: frame 174 dy  : 0
0570: frame 174 width 27
0571: frame 174 lines 19
0572: frame 174 ofs : 0x3DED8
0576: frame 175 dx  : 0
0577: frame 175 dy  : 0
0578: frame 175 width 27
0579: frame 175 lines 19
057A: frame 175 ofs : 0x3E0B4
057E: frame 176 dx  : 0
057F: frame 176 dy  : 0
0580: frame 176 width 27
0581: frame 176 lines 19
0582: frame 176 ofs : 0x3E308
0586: frame 177 dx  : 0
0587: frame 177 dy  : 0
0588: frame 177 width 27
0589: frame 177 lines 19
058A: frame 177 ofs : 0x3E4E6
058E: frame 178 dx  : 0
058F: frame 178 dy  : 0
0590: frame 178 width 27
0591: frame 178 lines 19
0592: frame 178 ofs : 0x3E70B
0596: frame 179 dx  : 0
0597: frame 179 dy  : 0
0598: frame 179 width 46
0599: frame 179 lines 38
059A: frame 179 ofs : 0x3E888
059E: frame 180 dx  : 0
059F: frame 180 dy  : 0
05A0: frame 180 width 46
05A1: frame 180 lines 38
05A2: frame 180 ofs : 0x3ED60
Ogre Mage Posts: 2318 Karma: +73/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2318
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #33 on: May 17, 2017, 05:15:05 PM »
Hi peeps :)

.. so in my spare time I've been doing a bit on this idea:

for custom mods .../... I can write a mod app that will impliment them.

... and I've got a lot of it done. Like a prototype mod editor, and an app that watches the WC2 process, detects the current PUD file being used then checks if is has a mod section added to it etc. I've designed it to be configurable via an .ini file so if you come up with your own mod ideas later on you can easily add them to the editor.

Anyway does anyone have any ideas for mods that I can use to test it out?
We want stuff that can't already be edited in the PUD file ( no point in that ).

There's one here already, of course - the one that started this thread:

Offset: 004A1C9E  -  BYTE  -  "Bloodlust MP Cost"

So what else would we like to mod?????

 ( Edit: BTW not asking for a wish-list here : want things that people have already worked out the addresses/values for so I can test if this thing is going to work )



Find mine and easys hex thread boom! :)
Grunt Posts: 81 Karma: +6/-0 ***

Incos

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #34 on: May 18, 2017, 06:55:09 AM »
What about ripping something like unholy shield off a dk and attaching it to a paladin
Ogre Mage Posts: 2318 Karma: +73/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2318
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #35 on: May 18, 2017, 05:25:07 PM »
What about ripping something like unholy shield off a dk and attaching it to a paladin
I just did all spells last night. Easycompany want me to release a beta?
Ogre Mage Posts: 2318 Karma: +73/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2318
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #36 on: May 18, 2017, 08:23:38 PM »
whatever u want, i already at wargus now :P
Okay I'm doing a few fixes so sat or Sunday. I will release a beta! Hang tight mother fuckers you will all see what easy has been doing while hammered.
Grunt Posts: 81 Karma: +6/-0 ***

Incos

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #37 on: May 19, 2017, 07:27:47 AM »
Yeah the difference heal is a click fest through battle and slow on even faster is pretty hard. Most balancing that could be done is make everything pre battle. Like bunholy shield rip it off the dk put on paladin and rename holy shield.

Move heal to the mage
And flame shield to dk
Ogre Mage Posts: 2318 Karma: +73/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2318
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #38 on: May 19, 2017, 12:01:52 PM »
Yeah the difference heal is a click fest through battle and slow on even faster is pretty hard. Most balancing that could be done is make everything pre battle. Like bunholy shield rip it off the dk put on paladin and rename holy shield.

Move heal to the mage
And flame shield to dk

Well when you edit spells, for example switch holy vision for blizzard, you can cast blizzard at 255 range. So I think death coil casts in multiple locations depending on mana... So if it works like I think switch that with heal maybe it would heal a whole group? Well we will see sat or Sunday..
Grunt Posts: 81 Karma: +6/-0 ***

Incos

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 81
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #39 on: May 19, 2017, 05:24:08 PM »
Oh that's a very interesting point :) id like to see if that could work for my separate projects as well, I guess that would have to be an entirely differently war2.exe right Tupac.
Axe Thrower Posts: 303 Karma: +20/-0 ****

Lambchops

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #40 on: May 20, 2017, 10:03:57 AM »
maybe lamb's pud magic can work.

Seems to be working. Tested ok vs. comps on server games. Can't see why it wouldn't work for multiplayer games as long as everyone is running the software. I'll post an alpha test soon and we can try it out. :)


Ogre Mage Posts: 2204 Karma: +44/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2204
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #41 on: May 20, 2017, 12:37:35 PM »
cool man sounds like it works!

if it does work,we need some cooler stuff than just spells...

(to tupac below)
dam man i went as bout as far as i can go..ship object sizes is 1! its some mysterious other force that keeps them 2x2 for mini(kinda like birds..but i have got birds to stack before..transport value i think).... and just units for alot of 2d creations.

ive not got to the point yet..but it crosses the back of my mind.....units are just not in the exe are they  :blank:

95ee0 the command setting spot,this place allows spells to be casted on buildings also,was seriously hoping this was it.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2318 Karma: +73/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2318
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #42 on: May 20, 2017, 06:53:55 PM »
cool man sounds like it works!

if it does work,we need some cooler stuff than just spells...

Keep reversing war2 and the more options we will have!
Axe Thrower Posts: 303 Karma: +20/-0 ****

Lambchops

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #43 on: May 21, 2017, 06:02:39 AM »
cool man sounds like it works!

if it does work,we need some cooler stuff than just spells...

I've designed it so modders can add their own mods to the editor as they are discovered.  :critter:

The only restriction is no writing to executable code sections, otherwise people could use it to inject malware from a PUD file, but I've also included a security check to override that restriction for specific cases - so if somebody comes up with a cool mod that needs to  change the code somewhere, once it's been checked out as being safe I can supply an exception that will allow it.

It's a bit time consuming, but I want to get it right :)
Axe Thrower Posts: 303 Karma: +20/-0 ****

Lambchops

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 303
    • View Profile
Re: Easycompany
« Reply #44 on: May 21, 2017, 02:07:06 PM »
OK

 :critter:  Here's an alpha test.

I made a simple PUD for a tester, but you can use the built in editor to make your own.

Have a look at the .ini file and you can probably work out how to configure the editor for other mods - I havn't written any docs yet...

To test the map, all players must have LiveMod.exe running and active.
(click the lamb icon to activate it).

Still pleanty of work to do, but using this method we should be able to do lots of cool stuff, like embed GRPs in the PUD files so the graphics will change for that game etc...  :fro:

Check it out.