Author Topic: better hosting?  (Read 1975 times)

Offline ibrockinsteve

• Peon
    • View Profile
better hosting?
« on: April 14, 2017, 02:51:26 PM »
Is there a way to get better hosting? im not a techie but there's no reason such an old game should lag. Are there any closer servers or faster servers?

Offline mousEtopher

• Administrator
  • Ogre Mage
    • View Profile
    • War2.me
Re: better hosting?
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2017, 03:04:52 PM »
probably, but there's no server that's closer to everyone since people are in all countries. also, I know like .1% of how pvpgn works but I don't think server location matters too much once the matches start, then the connection is between the players. you will need lamby or someone to weigh in to get a real answer though.
squeak!

Offline Igognito

• Axe Thrower
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 04:35:39 PM »
Yeap, Server doesn't matter for Lag...
It is really user related :-/
There are ways to fix it if you are often lagging.
Server matters only for DOS attacks (towards it).
Obviously, more expensive servers might be better protected by a DOS attack. I remember one day that the server was attacked and it was horrible to start the game.
After it was okay.

I think iL has physical access to the server. So perhaps the community could put a penny for upgrading the server defenses.

Offline ibrockinsteve

• Peon
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2017, 04:39:08 PM »
so why is there lag? an old game that was played on old modems lags?

Offline Winchester

• Ogre Mage
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2017, 10:09:04 PM »