War2.ru Slogan
News: The new antihack is here! Upgrade to War2Combat 4.0
today (it will eventually be mandatory for playing!)


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay 636  8

Ogre Mage Posts: 2298 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2298
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« on: April 18, 2017, 07:29:06 AM »
what i got right now is...

demons and water elementals are high priced/high hp mages dk's with useful spells(basically hero's)

the tech tree,doesnt need keep or castle..

i didnt want to go this route but im basically trying to mimic warcraft 3 :-\

ok changed my mind working on the main units...birds and stuff would be just disabled and used for new special units....
(may get burntout so putting it up)
but heres some sprites  ;D
(important swamp/wastland tileset only)
gnd units = my old stuff n64 look
the griffon is a bonus unit(im not using him unless theres a better way)..the demon just 2x'd it and has that lo reso block look.

orc has some war1 sounds on peon and grunt.

back up the old patch!!
Grunt Posts: 119 Karma: +2/-0 ***

salvadorc17

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2017, 06:18:45 PM »
Good idea, hope this can also include new game engine changes like hex edit..
Axe Thrower Posts: 287 Karma: +19/-0 ****

Igognito

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2017, 12:14:38 PM »
If I understand well, you are modifying war2 to have a war2 like mod?

That is cool! How do I use/test this? Found how to use it!
Cool it mainly changes the graphics I guess...
Does it do other changes?
Axe Thrower Posts: 287 Karma: +19/-0 ****

Igognito

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • *
  • Posts: 287
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2017, 12:50:28 PM »
Okay, Pretty cool
One thing I noticed is that peons return to war2 graphics if they carry gold/wood.

I wonder. I didn't saw any elementals or deamons. How do you get those?
Axe Thrower Posts: 413 Karma: +27/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 413
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2017, 02:38:36 PM »
He only chanhe grp, i was streaming when i had knight with lust, but other players saw ogre, he didnt add anything new
Ogre Mage Posts: 2349 Karma: +75/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2349
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #5 on: April 24, 2017, 08:56:35 PM »
yes just test,nothing new yet,and the grps still have bugs...its just to get a way from war2 so ideas come lol.

will fix up the grp's the best i can,they are actually war1 rips and u have to upscale them...using starcraft or a like game it would not need to be upscaled.

but they are things that can be done..bugs cause strange behavior that can be usefull.

had a elve that any unit that u clicked to go to him they would turn invisible(both player and opponent)on movement they would reapear...just gonna have to dig around.

but the good thing about war1 is it isnt that advance! thankgod!

demons and water elementals can be used in the demo/sap spot(with his demolition removed)..yes not added yet.(high cost also,those units are op!)

would be great to find units and how to add more  :-\ i know it can be done cause when i first started i bugged it and had footmen poping out of every building auto of course ....and couldnt locate the spot, i trashed a large area.

in the exe this spot is very promising but some work.
95ee0
peasents 1st? u can give attack to go to gold mine etc(change up commands values)

u can have a mage spell have the real demolition..and possible have a sapper cast blizzard,theres still a whole shit load of work lol.

but shooting for 1 and just try to make it true as possible  ;D gone to jam.

(and before anyone says roads..!!!!!) warcraft 1 was first build everywhere roads was added to near retail!

or just leave the demo on the water demon ..near death self destruct..war2 hybrid  ;D right click does is easy to change.. oh well ill release  some more stuff later

------update----
seems my last pal works with all tilesets :o wish that drunk would leave notes!!!  >:(

sappers "grp animation calls" of course isnt a smooth transition to work with  >:( so idk if the demon/water will ever walk correctly...it will but ug i hate resorting to numbers the tiles was a nightmare  ;D

oh yeah!! it can be made!
-----------------------------------today :P ----------
good news!! got the demon and he acts like the  demon!! water elemental also ..but fixing up all grps is taking the most time,then ill dump the patch and hopefully make it full war1 (we can take out tech tree's so its single and buildings call other buildings)or go for a war2 war1 with making the other remaining units something else...

You're awesome man!!! Keep modding!! People like us will bring light back to war2.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2298 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2298
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #6 on: May 03, 2017, 04:46:12 AM »
got sidetracked but has paid off!! no more macros!!

html border sized to make the 72x72 (what has to be adjusted for your images) :))

1.just put in the folder of your asu rips
2.re add pal
****3.paint the mass backgrnd a dif color than white black (not anything in the unit box)

****4.make a dot of a dif color somewhere keep asu from thinking its one big sprite (if needed)
****(ok here i just cutted my sprite sheet and put it on a new white backgrnd and left it all white finally worked..asu now sees them as indvidual sprites) the dot may be needed..my first sprite sheet worked with it, but now this one wants a new image to be pasted on  >:(
------------------------------------------------------------------------
3.resize the canvas... a little fixed asu thinking its 1 image.
5.re rip!!(using the select all this time)(unselect unused)(this may have to be click order)
6.use a .ral with the 0-64 etc names, make the grp in retrogrp

http://imageshack.com/i/posbbhUsj

http://www.alferdspritesheetunpacker.forkandbeard.co.uk/forkandBeard/apps/AlferdSpritesheetUnpacker/Download.aspx



making the rals names i use this place
http://textmechanic.com/text-tools/numeration-tools/generate-list-numbers/

 :'( :'( well i got in a rush...everything matches my made sprites in my other grps, colors and all...it seems that war2 just likes game maker making sprites  :'( :'(  maybe for some other 2d uses.

and its fixed!!! asu must write to png!+keep pal in options, im having to batch conversion back to bmp..so not the best way but a taddle bit better than the last :D

Grunt Posts: 89 Karma: +6/-0 ***

Incos

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 89
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #7 on: May 03, 2017, 01:11:01 PM »
You are So good with sprites haha.
For me it's a copy and paste game taking about 30 min for one unit
Ogre Mage Posts: 2298 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2298
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: warcraft"ish" 1 type of gameplay
« Reply #8 on: May 03, 2017, 04:44:30 PM »
still not there yet since asu .bmps wont work (reason unkown) they are 8bit and the right colors...changing back to just allow png..then u can just batch convert .bmp in a paint program that has it.

in html which is just notepad replace .bmp with .png  :P  and maybe some other way to define the border size to unit ratio...i guessed at 20 for mine and it made 72x72 lol

it will be replace "20" to "21" etc not 20 to 21.

width="32" height="32" may stretch them in! so cool so 20 =72x72  for this unit size

and it does  ;D

for backgrnd color idk what pal ur using..just change black to white etc

as always my shit is ruff move it around to fit your style..im going to see why asu didnt write topto the right to bottom..my unit sprites are wrong..and just change html to make it work.

sappers grp animations are not called like the other units..like sprite 5 is down walk sprite 16(guess) is the next instead of 10 etc..dif copies of this to work with fuged up units.

ill get something going cause im getting lazy as hell.. less clicks possible.