War2.ru Slogan
News: New responsive forum theme available! Click here to switch! More info here!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Poll

Is it allowed to change hot keys?

Yes
11 (78.6%)
No
3 (21.4%)

Total Members Voted 14

Voting closed: August 28, 2017, 10:57:59 AM

Is reassigning hotkeys cheating? 697  25

Ogre Mage Posts: 1855 Karma: +81/-4 The General ********

~ToRa~

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1855
  • The General
    • View Profile
Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« on: August 21, 2017, 10:56:53 AM »
I recently stumbled upon a program that changes keys on a keyboard I tested it and was thinking to change "q" to "o" to make it easier to macro ogres.
But before I do I wanted to know if this is even allowed.

I do know a number of players who are doing it this moment.
"The Architect" Global Moderator Death Knight Posts: 4488 Karma: +175/-110 *****

eyyy im walkin here

  • "The Architect"
  • Global Moderator
  • Death Knight
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 4488
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #1 on: August 21, 2017, 10:59:23 AM »
doesnt seem like a big deal.  i believe the decision is made for us by some international versions of war2 already having different hot keys than the US version
Ogre Mage Posts: 1855 Karma: +81/-4 The General ********

~ToRa~

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1855
  • The General
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #2 on: August 21, 2017, 11:07:32 AM »
Well here is the program,

https://sharpkeys.codeplex.com

One can reassign the hotkeys to suit their own preferences.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2360 Karma: +76/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2360
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #3 on: August 21, 2017, 12:33:24 PM »
Well here is the program,

https://sharpkeys.codeplex.com

One can reassign the hotkeys to suit their own preferences.
Or you could just edit the file in the mpq....
Ogre Mage Posts: 1855 Karma: +81/-4 The General ********

~ToRa~

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1855
  • The General
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #4 on: August 21, 2017, 12:51:31 PM »
j
Well here is the program,

https://sharpkeys.codeplex.com

One can reassign the hotkeys to suit their own preferences.
Or you could just edit the file in the mpq....


Im bad with comps  how does one do that
Ogre Mage Posts: 2162 Karma: +119/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #5 on: August 21, 2017, 01:27:21 PM »
allowed since diff language versions have diff hotkeys
Ogre Mage Posts: 2162 Karma: +119/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #6 on: August 21, 2017, 01:32:34 PM »
lol that link is remapping windows keys
Ogre Mage Posts: 2360 Karma: +76/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2360
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #7 on: August 21, 2017, 07:25:21 PM »
lol that link is remapping windows keys
Lol yea thats why I said something :)


And tora the tutorials is in development or support section I've went through this a year ago
Ogre Mage Posts: 1855 Karma: +81/-4 The General ********

~ToRa~

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1855
  • The General
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #8 on: August 21, 2017, 07:32:02 PM »
lol that link is remapping windows keys
Lol yea thats why I said something :)


And tora the tutorials is in development or support section I've went through this a year ago

U got a better way to change the hotkeys? Can you tell me how to do it?
Grunt Posts: 183 Karma: +22/-3 ***

woofy

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 183
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2017, 05:21:59 AM »
the question in the thread title is the opposite to the actual poll question
Ogre Mage Posts: 2162 Karma: +119/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2017, 06:24:16 AM »
messiah made a nice hotkey changer with some large-boob lady picture
i could totally rock the war3 version of hotkeys (QWE ASD ZXC) if it wasnt for muscle memory combinations such as 0p9p8p.. or 1a2a3a4a5a6a.. ("wtf claw how u attak with all at once")
Axe Thrower Posts: 458 Karma: +30/-0 ****

Szwagier

  • Axe Thrower
  • ****
  • Posts: 458
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2017, 07:32:24 AM »
the hardest think about new hotkeys is that u need to stop using old hotkeys

"new game"

all players will remember forever bf bb bh  8)
Grunt Posts: 99 Karma: +5/-0 ***

eleison

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 99
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2017, 05:18:36 PM »
Normally in rts the rule is, one "action" per keypress... One press one peon, no macros...
"The Architect" Global Moderator Death Knight Posts: 4488 Karma: +175/-110 *****

eyyy im walkin here

  • "The Architect"
  • Global Moderator
  • Death Knight
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 4488
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #13 on: August 23, 2017, 05:35:18 PM »
yeah macros definitely not allowed. but making peons with Q instead of P if someone wants is no biggie
Peon Posts: 42 Karma: +16/-0 **

Ywfn

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 42
    • View Profile
Re: Is reassigning hotkeys cheating?
« Reply #14 on: August 23, 2017, 06:42:19 PM »
I've been playing so long with the current hotkeys that I can't imagine remapping them would ever result in measurable improvement.  I suppose if you played a lot you'd get used to new hotkeys.