War2.ru Slogan
News: Watch live streams at War2TV and replays of
past streams at War2TV Reruns!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Found the "quoting bug" 1192  8

Ogre Mage Posts: 2345 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
Found the "quoting bug"
« on: March 14, 2015, 08:35:55 AM »
I just realized that the way quote works:

if NOTHING is selected, the entire post gets quoted.

if SOMETHING from the post is selected, only the selected part gets quoted. So if one selects the important sentence and hits 'quote', it (and nothing else) will get quoted. If someone accidentally selects a random, single char or word, only the char/word will get quoted and i believe this is the source of ganz's quoting bug problem, which isnt really a bug, but a feature. (literally lol)
Ogre Mage Posts: 1550 Karma: +60/-36 ********

Winchester

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1550
    • View Profile
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2015, 08:51:17 AM »
I just realized that the way quote works:


if NOTHING is selected, the entire post gets quoted.


if SOMETHING from the post is selected, only the selected part gets quoted.


So if one selects the important sentence and hits 'quote', it (and nothing else) will get quoted. If someone accidentally selects a random, single char or word, only the char/word will get quoted and i believe this is the source of ganz's quoting bug problem, which isnt really a bug, but a feature. (literally lol)
Ogre Mage Posts: 2345 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #2 on: March 14, 2015, 08:54:07 AM »
und the "quoting bug"
« Reply #1 on: Today at 08:51:17 AM »
Yeah, it works for the stuff outside the core text too
Administrator Ogre Mage Posts: 1988 Karma: +104/-109 *****

mousEtopher

  • Administrator
  • Ogre Mage
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 1988
    • View Profile
    • War2.me
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #3 on: March 14, 2015, 09:31:22 AM »
How would Ganz accidentally be selecting random text 25% of the time he tries to quote?
Ogre Mage Posts: 2345 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #4 on: March 14, 2015, 09:40:07 AM »
for one hes stupid and delusional, i also imagine he was using the touch screen to scroll up/down and i suppose it would only take an accidental doubleclick to select something
Best War2 Player Ever Ogre Mage Posts: 1745 Karma: +55/-58 #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU ********

GaNzTheLegend

  • Best War2 Player Ever
  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 1745
  • #1 on: Kali, Heat, Zone, Kahn, GameStorm, Bnet, RU
    • View Profile
    • Kali Hall Of Fame
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #5 on: March 14, 2015, 10:13:12 AM »
I will test it out.
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6059 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6059
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #6 on: March 14, 2015, 11:03:17 AM »
for one hes stupid and delusional, i also imagine he was using the touch screen to scroll up/down and i suppose it would only take an accidental doubleclick to select something
Lmao funny coming from the gay retarded Polak.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Sappers Posts: 991 Karma: +48/-109 ******

SmurfKinG

  • Sappers
  • ******
  • Posts: 991
    • View Profile
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #7 on: March 14, 2015, 03:40:39 PM »
this thread is a repeat and its even on the same page of forrum affairs wtf

that "feature" was already described by blid

Spoiler
What bug?
no, for me it always quotes it wrong and I have to keep erasing it and doing it over and over again.

I click the "Quote (selected)" button on a post and it quotes the whole post.  Very nice.

I highlight a certain part of a post and hit that same button, and it
always quotes it wrong

always quotes it right.



and ganz still says "ill check it out"
you would think even after that thread and its replies, he would've already tested it

Anyway, I once experienced(only once) quoting cutted too, i was using a windows8 slow computer, not sure if that has to do with anything or wut.

Ogre Mage Posts: 2345 Karma: +123/-179 ********

I hate naggers

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2345
    • View Profile
Re: Found the "quoting bug"
« Reply #8 on: March 14, 2015, 03:42:28 PM »
oh sorry, never found it