War2.ru Slogan
News: Don't forget to join Channel: Trivia for trivia!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

Window Mode for WarCraft 2! 11477  16

Ogre Mage Posts: 2339 Karma: +74/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« on: April 22, 2015, 12:48:55 AM »
Files ripped from dxwnd project for warcraft 2.

1. Make a backup copy of ddraw.dll from the warcraft 2 folder.
2. Replace it with this one and the config file.
3. Load warcraft 2 and enjoy window mode!

 8)

This also helps a little bit with windows 8. It is still messed up but i can see icons and bnet is shifted like it is running in the normal screen resolution defaults for war2. But game play, lobby is perfect.

(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2015, 01:40:20 AM »
Cool! Have ss?

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Grunt Posts: 203 Karma: +41/-28 Greetings. ***

Teron-Gorefiend

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Greetings.
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2015, 02:29:19 AM »
Hah. Looks great if it works. Should try it! Maybe good to watch war2 games on desktop :)
Ogre Mage Posts: 2339 Karma: +74/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2015, 02:38:07 AM »
Ehh I could upload one tmr. Works great enjoy!
Grunt Posts: 203 Karma: +41/-28 Greetings. ***

Teron-Gorefiend

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 203
  • Greetings.
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #4 on: April 22, 2015, 10:03:08 AM »
I get war2 windowed in one screen and the black chat window outside of the war2 640*480 window...
Ogre Mage Posts: 2339 Karma: +74/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #5 on: April 22, 2015, 11:21:37 AM »
Battle.net is buggy but game play and lobby is perfect.
Grunt Posts: 158 Karma: +18/-16 Don't shoot the sheep! ***

USA~Archer

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 158
  • Don't shoot the sheep!
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #6 on: April 22, 2015, 03:02:20 PM »
Is this actually useful for anything?

- Not useful for gameplay (resolution too small)
- Not useful for chat (just use stealthbot)

Maybe if theres a way to resize the window it is in that would be cool


Screenshots attached
Ogre Mage Posts: 2339 Karma: +74/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #7 on: April 22, 2015, 05:13:33 PM »
Ehh it's not bad, this is really useful for developers...
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #8 on: April 23, 2015, 02:37:23 AM »
Is this actually useful for anything?

- Not useful for gameplay (resolution too small)
- Not useful for chat (just use stealthbot)

Maybe if theres a way to resize the window it is in that would be cool


Screenshots attached
Dam this reminds me of Wine on Linux lol

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Peon Posts: 38 Karma: +5/-0 **

aqrit

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #9 on: April 23, 2015, 03:21:42 AM »
Can't really use WineD3D on Windows because it likes to ONLY use ~16 colors in 256 color mode :(

However,
[http:] //www.bitpatch.com/downloads/war2_ddraw_test.zip
is basically the same idea as what is done with the wine patch for War2BNE.

It attempts to ports the game to 32bpp and defeat DWM Desktop Composition.
I haven't yet added fullscreen back to it... because I don't like the Transparent Blit concept this uses.

in-game screens-shots should work normally except there won't be a screen flash when a ss is taken...  Screen-shots of the Battle.net screen won't work, instead use Alt+PRTSC and paste it into mspaint.
Ogre Mage Posts: 2339 Karma: +74/-1 ********

tupac

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • *
  • Posts: 2339
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #10 on: September 29, 2015, 01:17:46 AM »
Can't really use WineD3D on Windows because it likes to ONLY use ~16 colors in 256 color mode :(

However,
[http:] //www.bitpatch.com/downloads/war2_ddraw_test.zip
is basically the same idea as what is done with the wine patch for War2BNE.

It attempts to ports the game to 32bpp and defeat DWM Desktop Composition.
I haven't yet added fullscreen back to it... because I don't like the Transparent Blit concept this uses.

in-game screens-shots should work normally except there won't be a screen flash when a ss is taken...  Screen-shots of the Battle.net screen won't work, instead use Alt+PRTSC and paste it into mspaint.

Please come back!
Peon Posts: 38 Karma: +5/-0 **

aqrit

  • Peon
  • **
  • Posts: 38
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #11 on: September 29, 2015, 02:16:46 AM »
-_-
(ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™ Dragon Posts: 6061 Karma: +135/-70 "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!" **********

EviL~Ryu

  • (ง︡'-'︠)ง "Bitchin!" ®©℗™
  • Dragon
  • **********
  • *
  • Posts: 6061
  • "It's going to be Legen-(wait for it......)-DARY!"
    • View Profile
    • Clan EviL Official Page
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #12 on: September 29, 2015, 03:05:40 AM »
....


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Ogre Mage Posts: 2233 Karma: +46/-2 retired, be in music section ********

easycompany

  • Ogre Mage
  • ********
  • Posts: 2233
  • retired, be in music section
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #13 on: September 29, 2015, 08:01:35 PM »
https://www.playonlinux.com/en

the small screen would work better for talking and just watching games so cool idea pac!
3rd party reso dropper to 640 would make it full screen :o.
like in a program called bsplayer i doit to my vm.
Grunt Posts: 60 Karma: +2/-0 Hey hey hey, That's what I'll Say! ***

Thomas29

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • *
  • Posts: 60
  • Hey hey hey, That's what I'll Say!
    • View Profile
Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
« Reply #14 on: October 04, 2015, 10:17:52 AM »
Huh Sweet Nice Job.