Warcraft II Forum

Warcraft II => Server.War2.ru => Topic started by: tk[as] on February 07, 2015, 09:28:36 AM

Title: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: tk[as] on February 07, 2015, 09:28:36 AM
What are their other options? 

Set up static IP (if they have dynamic IP)?
Buy new router that supports UPNP?
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: GaNzTheLegend on February 07, 2015, 10:34:30 AM
manual forward ports
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: EviL~Ryu on February 07, 2015, 11:26:50 AM
What are their other options? 

Set up static IP (if they have dynamic IP)?
Buy new router that supports UPNP?
Most routers are easily portforwardable....if UPNP does not work...a new router could be worth a shot but in my opinion not neccessary. A static external ipaddress will not make a different however a static internal address is always recommended, because at times that address can change and cause hosting issues again.

But yes options left I think would be to do manual forwarding correctly....and if that does not work a new router. OR buy software that automatically forwards your ports for you, never tried it myself but supposedly works.

Manual Directions are given perfectly at portforward.com based on specific router brand and model #. I have helped around 15 people to host up to now just using that website as guide.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: GaNzTheLegend on February 07, 2015, 12:50:30 PM
According to lance's stats people with pnp enabled routers was 80% so fixing 80% of people's hosting problems is sufficient, I say the new version of combat is a success and the hosting problem is official solved.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: SmurfKinG on February 07, 2015, 12:53:46 PM
DMZ = ENABLE
[/color]

100% FOOLPROOF SOLUTION
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: I hate naggers on February 07, 2015, 02:16:52 PM
it will never be 100% just so you know. The only way to 'reach' 100% is to polish the hosting bot. iL's bot is using caught phrases and text parsing, but it could get smarter if he applied memory reading to it
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: EviL~Ryu on February 07, 2015, 02:53:12 PM
DMZ = ENABLE
[/color]

100% FOOLPROOF SOLUTION
Uh no.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: tupac on February 07, 2015, 06:13:11 PM
Claw that what I've been trying to tell him!!!
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: tk[as] on February 07, 2015, 09:33:34 PM
it would be nice if someone helped make scripts for hosting bots.

unfortunately i know nothing about that.


after a certain amount of time the bots have the latency issue as well also
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 08, 2015, 04:49:21 PM
Set up static IP (if they have dynamic IP)?
Note that it's not about static or dynamic ip.
It's about real (white) or unreal (gray) ip.

Static ip (which you buy for several $ per month) will also be real most likely.
But both static and dynamic ip could be real.

So, you should check if your ip is real or unreal before anything else.

Buy new router that supports UPNP?

This new router will not help if your ip is unreal.
It will help for lazy users only who can not setup their upnp-incompatible router properly. Also i don't think there are many routers with no UPNP support left now.

manual forward ports

Also note that it will not help if your ip is unreal.

According to lance's stats people with pnp enabled routers was 80% so fixing 80% of people's hosting problems is sufficient, I say the new version of combat is a success and the hosting problem is official solved.

I'll check that stat about % of upnp-compatible routers also.
But also note that upnp-compatible router will not help if your ip is unreal.
Also note that you can be connected directly to your ISP, then upnp port forwarding will fail, but you can host games.
Same with properly configured port forwarding with upnp-incompatible router.

but it could get smarter if he applied memory reading to it

The best way would be to find $10 per month to start windows-hosting. It will resolve the problem with lagging connections to GameBot.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: tupac on February 08, 2015, 09:17:53 PM
Just check the ports with your stuff add it to the bot to test ports at every hour and re log the bot. Solved.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: tupac on February 08, 2015, 09:18:20 PM
Should I get my host bot working again???
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: chayliss on February 08, 2015, 11:21:18 PM
I went to logon today...it said update or something...then said it was like 16 bit when im runnin 32 bit...so no update...um what?
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 01:15:53 AM
Just check the ports with your stuff add it to the bot to test ports at every hour and re log the bot. Solved.
That will work only if bot if online.
Also ports are actually forwarded, the problem with bot is really low latency, so port tester return true, but some people can not join it and others can.
Should I get my host bot working again???
Sure, you can research it as long as you wish, you don't need to ask anyone. Just start it and let people use it if you can.
I'd appreciate if you share the source code of your bot, but it's up to you.
I went to logon today...it said update or something...then said it was like 16 bit when im runnin 32 bit...so no update...um what?
what are you talking about? Cat you post SS?
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 01:27:52 AM
Also note that this instruction: http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/ (http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/) is working, but not perfect:
1. you should have real ip to let people join you.
2. You should not forward ports 6112-6119 and 4000 Both TCP+UDP. Only one 6112 UDP should be enough.
3. You should not use both port forwarding and DMZ. Eighter one of another should be enough.

My instruction: http://war2.warcraft.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25391 (http://war2.warcraft.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25391) is much better, but also need to add about War2PLoader could be used instead of that.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 07:52:05 AM
I just supplemented this article: http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/ (http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/) by my own comments "note by iL".
Several important moments.

Please, read that carefully and let me know if something is not clear.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: EviL~Ryu on February 09, 2015, 09:02:04 AM
I just supplemented this article: [url]http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/[/url] ([url]http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/[/url]) by my own comments "note by iL".
Several important moments.

Please, read that carefully and let me know if something is not clear.

What do you mean by when you say a ipaddress is REAL? Little confused there ...u mean a dynamic external ip?

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: I hate naggers on February 09, 2015, 09:10:16 AM
external
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: EviL~Ryu on February 09, 2015, 09:12:57 AM
external
Oh ok

Also iL you might want to mention portforward.com on that page....it really is a very good site to provide accurate instructions based on router brand and model# and how to configure the router correctly to play War2. It will be a great addition to this page because it provides screen shots of each step how to do the process on whatever brand of router you want to play warcraft with. Also shows you how to make your internal/local ipaddress static to make the porting solid through router firewall.

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 10:11:06 AM
What do you mean by when you say a ipaddress is REAL? Little confused there ...u mean a dynamic external ip?
Well, yes, i'd say that means your external ip (visible for the world) is the same as ip on your side of network cable given by ISP.

The easiest way to check if your ip is real is to compare:
- the external ip in your router admin panel status
- and the ip given by any site shows "Your public IP address".
If these addresses are similar then your ip is real.
Otherwise your ip is gray and nothing help you to be happy.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 10:15:31 AM
Also iL you might want to mention portforward.com on that page....

Agreed, there were several different port forwarding instructions on different war2 forums and sites, i got this: http://war2.warcraft.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25391 (http://war2.warcraft.org/forum/viewtopic.php?t=25391)
and this: http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/ (http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/)

And i can't find the link to the 3-rd one with link to portforward.com, can anybody help me to find that topic?
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: iL on February 09, 2015, 11:00:31 AM
Added explanation about real ip, links to portforward.com and copypasted 2 my previously created posts from occult forum. There's also an explanation about real ip and router configuration.

Supplemented this article: http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/ (http://server.war2.ru/support/warcraft-ii-hosting-latency-fix/) again.

Please, read that carefully and let me know if something is not clear.
Title: Re: If 4.0 does not fix hosting for user..
Post by: EviL~Ryu on February 09, 2015, 11:16:57 AM
I will look through it more carefully after work. Oh by the way "eigther" is either no g

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X