Warcraft II Forum

Warcraft II => Mods & Development => Topic started by: tupac on April 22, 2015, 12:48:55 AM

Title: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on April 22, 2015, 12:48:55 AM
Files ripped from dxwnd project for warcraft 2.

1. Make a backup copy of ddraw.dll from the warcraft 2 folder.
2. Replace it with this one and the config file.
3. Load warcraft 2 and enjoy window mode!

 8)

This also helps a little bit with windows 8. It is still messed up but i can see icons and bnet is shifted like it is running in the normal screen resolution defaults for war2. But game play, lobby is perfect.

Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: EviL~Ryu on April 22, 2015, 01:40:20 AM
Cool! Have ss?

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: Teron-Gorefiend on April 22, 2015, 02:29:19 AM
Hah. Looks great if it works. Should try it! Maybe good to watch war2 games on desktop :)
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on April 22, 2015, 02:38:07 AM
Ehh I could upload one tmr. Works great enjoy!
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: Teron-Gorefiend on April 22, 2015, 10:03:08 AM
I get war2 windowed in one screen and the black chat window outside of the war2 640*480 window...
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on April 22, 2015, 11:21:37 AM
Battle.net is buggy but game play and lobby is perfect.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: USA~Archer on April 22, 2015, 03:02:20 PM
Is this actually useful for anything?

- Not useful for gameplay (resolution too small)
- Not useful for chat (just use stealthbot)

Maybe if theres a way to resize the window it is in that would be cool


Screenshots attached
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on April 22, 2015, 05:13:33 PM
Ehh it's not bad, this is really useful for developers...
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: EviL~Ryu on April 23, 2015, 02:37:23 AM
Is this actually useful for anything?

- Not useful for gameplay (resolution too small)
- Not useful for chat (just use stealthbot)

Maybe if theres a way to resize the window it is in that would be cool


Screenshots attached
Dam this reminds me of Wine on Linux lol

Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X

Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: aqrit on April 23, 2015, 03:21:42 AM
Can't really use WineD3D on Windows because it likes to ONLY use ~16 colors in 256 color mode :(

However,
[http:] //www.bitpatch.com/downloads/war2_ddraw_test.zip
is basically the same idea as what is done with the wine patch for War2BNE.

It attempts to ports the game to 32bpp and defeat DWM Desktop Composition.
I haven't yet added fullscreen back to it... because I don't like the Transparent Blit concept this uses.

in-game screens-shots should work normally except there won't be a screen flash when a ss is taken...  Screen-shots of the Battle.net screen won't work, instead use Alt+PRTSC and paste it into mspaint.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on September 29, 2015, 01:17:46 AM
Can't really use WineD3D on Windows because it likes to ONLY use ~16 colors in 256 color mode :(

However,
[http:] //www.bitpatch.com/downloads/war2_ddraw_test.zip
is basically the same idea as what is done with the wine patch for War2BNE.

It attempts to ports the game to 32bpp and defeat DWM Desktop Composition.
I haven't yet added fullscreen back to it... because I don't like the Transparent Blit concept this uses.

in-game screens-shots should work normally except there won't be a screen flash when a ss is taken...  Screen-shots of the Battle.net screen won't work, instead use Alt+PRTSC and paste it into mspaint.

Please come back!
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: aqrit on September 29, 2015, 02:16:46 AM
-_-
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: EviL~Ryu on September 29, 2015, 03:05:40 AM
....


Sent from my Motorola DynaTAC 8000X using Tapatalk
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: shesycompany on September 29, 2015, 08:01:35 PM
https://www.playonlinux.com/en (https://www.playonlinux.com/en)

the small screen would work better for talking and just watching games so cool idea pac!
3rd party reso dropper to 640 would make it full screen :o.
like in a program called bsplayer i doit to my vm.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: Thomas29 on October 04, 2015, 10:17:52 AM
Huh Sweet Nice Job.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on December 11, 2015, 09:07:12 PM
Lol he did come back thank you sir didn't notice you replied back! Thank you!!!!!
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: tupac on June 08, 2016, 07:57:22 AM
I'm impressed how much attention and downloads i have in this thread. I really hope 330 people are happy with warcraft 2 in window mode.

I think this traffic came when the new color fix was released.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: krida on January 13, 2018, 01:49:25 AM
Hi, anyone knows how to fix touchpad? I have a new laptop, Windows10, and the touchpad works terrible in games. I don't know what to do with it. My previous laptop worked very well.
Title: Re: Window Mode for WarCraft 2!
Post by: Muz on December 25, 2019, 12:29:58 AM
Is there a mouse fix for this?