War2.ru Slogan
News: All hail our wise & benevolent admins!


Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Welcome to the forums! We're glad to have you here! :) You can register your account here, then feel free to introduce yourself in the Server.War2.ru board & let us know who you are on the server.

just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10 415  12

Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« on: July 07, 2021, 04:46:16 AM »
i just downloaded wc2 and joined the lobby but its not full screen , just like its 4:3 with black borders on left\right.
with my old pc , same screen, was adapted and full screen , its annoying.

how to fix this?
Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #1 on: July 07, 2021, 04:48:00 AM »
it doesnt adapt in game either, totally unplayable  :'(
Global Moderator Grunt Posts: 147 Karma: +3/-0 We're smarter than you. *****

Available

  • Global Moderator
  • Grunt
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • We're smarter than you.
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #2 on: July 07, 2021, 05:49:52 AM »
totally unplayable
Bad joke.
Maybe it's time to get used to the normal picture?  ;D

Really totally unplayable is ugly melting picture 4:3 to 16:9...


But, ok.
There are two[or three..] solutions:

normal:
1. hardware settings in your display, like turn off "keep aspect ratio", select kinda "stretch to screen"
2. driver level fix by nvidia/amd/intel apps: find settings and do something similar

if normal solutions somewhat not working:
3. use Warcraft II Config.exe, turn off "keep aspect ratio", then
for GDI ddraw - switch to windowed mode, and stretch window as you wish
for CNC ddraw - select OpenGL in config + No border (fake-windowed mode)
Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #3 on: July 07, 2021, 08:07:41 AM »
tried a lot but couldnt find a "normal" solution  :(
windowed mode didnt work properly (fucked up the resolution pretty much plus windowed its not as good as full screen)

in my old pc it worked properly with the wide screen but if i'd use the laptop screen its 4:3 there aswell.. i might be the only one using it streched?
Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #4 on: July 07, 2021, 11:12:34 AM »
@Droid u might want to help a microHSC player!
Global Moderator Grunt Posts: 147 Karma: +3/-0 We're smarter than you. *****

Available

  • Global Moderator
  • Grunt
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • We're smarter than you.
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #5 on: July 07, 2021, 01:51:36 PM »
The settings may look something like the ones in attached pictures.

They show the solution to the inverse problem, but the meaning is the same.



Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #6 on: July 08, 2021, 01:07:25 PM »
im using this PC --> https://www.amazon.it/gp/product/B073V4VYQ4/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o04_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1
and it has an itel grafic shit for as much as i can understand so its not NVIDIA NOR AMD.
it has a pannel to configure which is this one (attached)

i configured the "scalability" from "Keep proportion screen" to personalized and made it full screen , which actually should be the same and nothing changed indeed.
for as much as i can understand "keep screen proportion" should mean that if the image is not 16:9 it goes 16:9 anyways, but its not working :(

i tried chaning the option of war2 aswell from "standard" to "stretched" nothing changed :(
kinda tried any shit on the war2 icon like open as admin or open windowed and enlarge o wtf idk i tried all it always looked the same.

also tried all the confings in war2loader and couldnt work it out :( :( :(

Berserker Posts: 715 Karma: +39/-2 LAWL! LICK MY RIPESTICKZ0R H0M0 :D *****

RipE[Eur0]

  • Berserker
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 715
  • LAWL! LICK MY RIPESTICKZ0R H0M0 :D
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #7 on: July 08, 2021, 01:08:29 PM »
lol l0renz0. i feel for u m8.
Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #8 on: July 08, 2021, 01:34:29 PM »
UPDATE !!!!!!!!!!!!!


FOUND A FUCKIN SOLUTION IN CONFIGURATION (TRIED ALL THE POSSIBILITIES 50+ POSSIBILITES LOL):

- OPENGL
- BORDERLESS
- CUBIC
- UNFLAGGED
- UNFLAGGED

THE GRAFIC IS PERFECT NOT RUINED\PIXELED BUT THERE'S AN ISSUE :

WHEN IN CHANNEL IT GOES TO WINDOWED AND RESIZE TO FULL SCREEN WHEN IN GAME LOBBY\GAME PLAY --> ITS FIXABLE?
Global Moderator Grunt Posts: 147 Karma: +3/-0 We're smarter than you. *****

Available

  • Global Moderator
  • Grunt
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • We're smarter than you.
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #9 on: July 08, 2021, 04:34:52 PM »
ITS FIXABLE?
NO :D

for as much as i can understand "keep screen proportion" should mean that if the image is not 16:9 it goes 16:9 anyways
Quite opposite.
"Keep proportion" is keep original ratio - 4:3 will remain 4:3
To get a widescreen image, you need to choose something else.

What options are there in the "Scalabilita" and "Proporzioni" menus?

Typically no one need "personalized".
There must be something like "Stretch to Fullscreen" and not saving proportions
Server Admin Death Knight Posts: 4600 Karma: +110/-14 *****

tk[as]

  • Server Admin
  • Death Knight
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 4600
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #10 on: July 08, 2021, 07:24:23 PM »
i think i had same problem when i went from xp to vista... one of those i played on "full screen"  .. which was not correct format for war2. instead of squares, it's rectangles.

finally took to time to start playing on proper aspect ratio and that's how i became #1.
Global Moderator Grunt Posts: 147 Karma: +3/-0 We're smarter than you. *****

Available

  • Global Moderator
  • Grunt
  • *****
  • *
  • Posts: 147
  • We're smarter than you.
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #11 on: July 09, 2021, 12:47:18 AM »
What options are there in the "Scalabilita" and "Proporzioni" menus

Just lol, found some...
Intel was f*ed up: in pursuit of a fake simplification so that "any dummy could use it," they screwed up these settings
https://www.intel.in/content/www/in/en/support/articles/000057700/graphics.html
So, for all settings to be revealed in menus you need to switch resolution to something like 1024x768, 1280x1024(i.e 4:3, 5:4, etc)

Because of this, in order to solve your problem, you need to follow these steps:

1. switch resolution to something like 1280x1024 and apply settings
(after that, your screen will probably have the same "black bars" on the left and right)

2. now go and check options menus again, new option "Stretched" must be appeared there - select and apply it.

3. now switch resolution back to "recommended" for your display.

Next time you using normal fullscreen warcraft2 (GDI option + Fullscreen in Warcraft II Config)
all must be ok (not really ok because it's disproportionate, but that's what you want)

Grunt Posts: 62 Karma: +3/-0 ***

LoRyS.iT

  • Grunt
  • ***
  • Posts: 62
    • View Profile
Re: just changed my PC , i have a problem in lobby , w10
« Reply #12 on: July 09, 2021, 06:29:16 AM »
awesome support really appreciated.
fixed it.

big love  :-* :-* :-*